The art of Ping Pong, FiveFootSix

PING PONG!! I undertook a competition for the company Five Foot Six in which I had to create a cover and back design to go on a ping pong paddle as part of the annual charity fun raiser. I could design anything I wanted to and so I began initial sketches with drawing fluid forms on the paddle templates we were given. I then had the idea of using the paddle as a theatrical prop around the face where the first idea was to have  two portraits in different expressions on each side. I then developed this idea into simply focusing on a set of lips and began sketching and souring imagery of female lips specifically as I found them visually appealing.

Biting the lip variation idea
Biting the lip variation idea
sketchbook ideas for the paddle design
sketchbook ideas for the paddle design
Lollipop design idea
Lollipop design idea
collective lip drawings i made in three separate poses
collective lip drawings i made in three separate poses
Idea for a ping pong in the mouth
Idea for a ping pong in the mouth
Leave a Reply

