Studio Culture Week- Visit two, Aboud Creative

DSCN0880 DSCN0889 DSCN0892 DSCN0896 DSCN0903

Books, books and more books!!
Books, books and more books!!

Luxury. Fashion. Photography.

Upon walking into Aboud creative studio I was instantly excited upon the incredible amount of books assembled on bookcases that acted as walls separating three areas of the room. The lead creator of this studio was named Alan with whom we spoke with towards the end of the visit. First thing I did was photograph the collection of colourful spines and accumulated pieces of art. This studio immediately appealed to me with its instant character and energy, it was what I call ‘Old school’ . Instead of relying on the internet, Alan likes to encourage the use of using books as reference, his collection goes well into the thousands, accumulated over twenty years. Alan commented on how he doesn’t like to look at the contemporary design world for inspiration as designs will become just iterations and copies, he utilises the sources within the studio that are almost all dated backwards to the seventies and fifties in design. I adored this idea of looking to the old to create the new and I instantly knew I wanted to build a source archive of books within our studio. it made the studio self sufficient in my eyes, as they had all the things they needed inside the labyrinth of books.

The Aboud’s work for Paul smith was brilliant, in particular the no crease suit campaign they took on in which they used an Olympic gymnast to promote the durability and ability of the suit to remain non creased even after strenuous activity is applied on the suit. The video footage of a gymnast wearing the suit during a routine on the pummel horse was simply stunning and as an idea, I thought was so well thought out and choreographed. The majority of Abouds work boasted luxurious brands, and the studio itself was not immensely high tech, it was quite the opposite other than the mac products, but this contradiction in tones was incredibly interesting to me and worked well. My initial ideas of the studio was this clean white, extremely sharp and modern studio space that deals with high fashion clients, and the Aboud studio was much less imposing in a positive way,  immensely inviting and laid back.

From the Aboud Creative studio I took away this sense that the design industry is so digitally steered with emphasis on pristine and high tech creating, but there are still studios functioning as what could be considered ‘lo-fi’ in its interior and environment. But this is what interest me as a designer, I strive to want a studio of my own day that is a juxtaposition of technology and pen on paper creating. Although the fashion emphasis of the Aboud studio did not intrigue me visually, I enjoyed the ethos and the feel of the studio more than the first visit. To take away from this studio for me would be for my group studio to consider that digital means of sourcing imagery and information should not be used as first option, it should be used after combing through artist books and such for that real hands on research which I feel has become a forgotten process of making. An enjoyable one at that.

Leave a Reply

