Looking at spaces

Since visiting two professional working studios, I’ve been interested in spaces and layout of shops and just indoor spaces in general. I live in Southend on Sea and in one of the shopping malls in the town centre a new bakery store has opened and I was instantly drawn towards this store when I saw the inside. upon entering the lights were a natural white as well as the plain white walls. What I liked was the simplicity in the design theme and the way in which the products were displayed. Also the large vinyl sticker of the brand behind the counter is an idea I have always wanted for my own studio I intend to have one day.

I also photographed my favourite old American sweet shop store Nelly’s which has unfortunately closed down. What I loved about this store, other than the candy, was the wide front door which reminded me of the doors from The Hobbit movie, and also the just the architecture of the outside. The front window was wide in width and small in length and usually shop windows are the  opposite. Details that aren’t that extravagant but caught my attention.

Vinyl sticker behind the counter was a lovely design touch
Vinyl sticker behind the counter was a lovely design touch
As my studio is about branding, I photographed these products as I liked the way in which they were displayed and the labels and design of the products themselves
As my studio is about branding, I photographed these products as I liked the way in which they were displayed and the labels and design of the products themselves
the layout seemed new and quite raw and natural. the large open space between each shelf bearing products was visually pleasing.
the layout seemed new and quite raw and natural. the large open space between each shelf bearing products was visually pleasing.
what was once Nellys, I walk by this empty store everyday and I always look in. I have a 'thing' for windows and I simply love these windows and the wood that frames the window.
what was once Nellys, I walk by this empty store everyday and I always look in. I have a ‘thing’ for windows and I simply love these windows and the wood that frames the window.
Leave a Reply

