Empathy & Enterprise. Language of Type.

Lecture was focused on refreshing and re building our view and preconceptions surrounding Type as we have to create a logo and design our own type for our breakfast product.We could create a simple type that focused on the narrative context behind the type, or create a type that is built for its pure aesthetic value. The lecture touched upon ideas of Gustalt psychology in conjunction with how type is perceived and read in regards to spatial context. Also touching upon the fact that we as a generation now select what information we want to receive as we are so information bombarded everyday. Called Selective Attention in type which is that we select which information we want to receive due to spatial conext between letters and shapes created within a type.

The Five rules to creating Type:

  1.  Similarity- objects of similarity will be viewed as together, a unit than separately for what they actually  are. So an anomaly will occur when objects of similarity are together accompanied by a separate object that is different, this gives the anomalous object attention.
  2.  Continuation- happens when the eye is compelled to move through the image.
  3.  Closure- is when we fill in the blank spaces that are left, such as words sliced inhalf can still be read as the same word because we close the ending, we fill it in ourselves
  4.   Proximity- occurs when objects close together appear as one.
  5.  figure/ foreground- examples such as the old hag image, can be seenas a young lady with her face turned away or can be seen as an old hag woman, the use of black and white creates an illusion of two images within one.

After learning these rules, we then began a Bauhaus task. Using Illustrator we had to create 9 squares on a blank page and in each square we had to use the symbol of a dot to illustrate 9 words in each square. the words we had to illustrate were;

  1. Order
  2. Increase
  3. Bold
  4. Conjested
  5. Tension
  6. Playful
  7. Dispersion
  8. Gathering
  9. Inclusion

I found this task initially daunting as I am unsure about how to use illustrator but after a few experiments and slow processes I began to understand the use of the tools, learned a few quick keys and techniques in the software which I was thrilled with. I found using a single dot shape to create these words an engaging and fun process and was understanding the purpose of the task was giving me a new take on the use of type through using a symbol as meaning. A single dot is a single dot, but I used this to communicate bold, a cluster of dots  forming tight together is just loads of dots but I used this to communicate gathering. It was all really interesting as I was watching myself throw meaning onto a shape.

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 3.40.22 PM Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 3.49.18 PM

From top left to right goes order, increase, bold, congested, tension, playful, dispersion, gathering and inclusion.
From top left to right goes order, increase, bold, congested, tension, playful, dispersion, gathering and inclusion.
the process of creating the squares and me fumbling my way through a digital class.
the process of creating the squares and me fumbling my way through a digital class.

After completing this first task we were then to use the same words and squares but to replace the dot  with a single letter.

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 4.08.25 PM

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 4.17.03 PM

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 4.20.54 PM

What became interesting was seeing how I processed each word and perceived what each word meant to me visually. I found the tasks incredibly valuable in how I was changing my perception of type as this incredibly difficult art which is can still be, but for me as abeginner I liked taking it back to its basics so I can then  weild a good deisgn within a type for my product.

Final part of class was to play around with cutting up letters and combing them in a playful experiment to get us used to type and have our first try and creating our logo type for our breakfast brand. We used photoshop for this and after a few bundled tries, I managed to understand the process and began creating type for my dip cake product which I had decided a final name for as ‘Diptea’ inspired by the contextual studies lecturer Dhipti,hope she doesn’t mind!  In Photoshop we used the mask tool to hide the sections of the type we selected and combined them together to create new type. I had no specific set ideas of what I wanted my type to look like as I was just starting out on considering my type, this was just pure experimentation and play which was very enjoyable. My finished type for the day had a very minimalist aesthetic to it as I became interested and focused on the negative space between each letter of my brand. I’m going to further experiment with creating the type through Photoshop whilst also searching up brands associated with afternoon tea as research into the various type styles associated with my target audience.

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 4.40.32 PM

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 4.42.03 PM

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 4.42.35 PM

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 4.47.00 PMScreen Shot 2015-11-13 at 4.50.04 PM

Leave a Reply

