Empathy & Enterprise. FMP. New work.

Screen Shot 2016-05-09 at 2.13.04 PMScreen Shot 2016-05-09 at 4.51.43 PMScreen Shot 2016-05-09 at 2.49.03 PM

Using Illustrator I mocked up my first website which was influenced by the layout designs of RED Campaign website. Taking two of my tasks as examples applied them to look as purchasable products on a dyspraxia awareness page. This is my first mock up and therefor there are a few variables to consider and add, such as price, a contents bar, contact details, other social media icons such as Instagram, Facebook and twitter. The spelling is incorrect but i was moments from correcting this when I thought possibly how this could serve to enhance the website as an experiential piece, similar to  the various interactive media pieces that have been written in such a way as to simulate how dyslexic people read and comprehend words. I chose the colour pink for the ‘Dys’ as I had used this colour for a previous work play piece ‘ On Wednesdays we sit on the spectrum’ which is a play on ‘on Wednesdays we wear pink’. Keeping this colour as part of the brand name is because It highlights the word itself in the sentence and the concept of the entire project is to highlight and create an awareness of Dyspraxia.  Currently I am not happy or enthusiastic about my FMP as I have been drawn away from my ideas and workings yet again, I am finding it incredibly difficult to visually communicate dyspraxia in a way that meets tutors and my own standards. On hindsight i can see how solely the illustrated activity book would not be very strong on its own as a final piece, but this was not the case as a video and prints were also to accompany this. I am currently at a cross roads where i am in conflict with doing what I feel is right and fitting for me as an illustrator and what is suggested through my peers. The above work is not at all my style of working, and it is not particularly unique or amazing, but the product concepts I feel are. What defines me as a developing illustrator is my imagination , the way I think and my ability to work with my hands, my strengths will always be hand rendered illustration, my weaknesses are currently applying this to digital. I am attempting now to somehow combine my hand rendering skills with the feedback I was given.

 

Leave a Reply

