Empathy & Enterprise. Brand Guidelines.

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 12.00.14 PM

 

After another quick talk with Adrian , it became a lot clearer on the direction of my project and what actual deliverables I was to create and I am now feeling more certain and positive about my FMP. The deliverables I am to create are a series of concept boards of website mock ups for the brand ‘DON’T DYS ME’ . Before I could begin this line of work properly I had to firstly create my own brand guidelines which i was initially completely at a loss for, after some research and conversations with my peers i came to understand that a brand guideline is almost like a how to and why book about my brand. My brand guideline contains how to make the brand logo, the manifesto, colour scheme, colours not to use and type choices. Initially I made the pages for the guideline in Illustrator and then realised it was to be a printed book so I went straight over to indesign and made my first Brand guideline. It was very beneficial to me to make this guideline as it served to make me answer questions about why i chose the colour schemes, also why I chose certain colours over others and defend my reasoning. The chosen colour pink for the brand logo was partially influenced by the wordplay poster ‘On Wednesdays we sit on the spectrum’ taken from ‘on Wednesdays we wear pink’, it then became a permanent fixture for the brand as this colour projected the positive attitude the brand stood for in that it supports and celebrates Dyspraxia.I chose an accompanying colour of turquoise as well as black for the type and white for the backdrop, the turquoise was specifically chosen to add another component colour for the graphics such as enlarged type and shapes,but also to show that the website was not targeted towards women as pink is a heavily associated feminine colour. I chose the type Haettenschweiler as it is a very bold type and picking a type was a real struggle as to me all type either looks the same when its not drastically different. The logo, brand name and the text for the website are all written in capitol letters as i feel this is a style element to my brand and also that capitol letters by default are used for important words, with the concept of my FMP being to highlight an importance of creating awareness for a common disorder such as Dyspraxia, I felt this decision was just. The process became easier than I anticipated as I went along, I’m usually quite uneasy with digital work. The brand guidelines will most likely need something added to it that I have currently not thought of after another review with my tutor, now I am to start the mock up of my websites. Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 2.09.10 PMScreen Shot 2016-05-13 at 2.09.17 PMScreen Shot 2016-05-13 at 2.09.24 PMScreen Shot 2016-05-13 at 2.09.30 PMScreen Shot 2016-05-13 at 2.09.37 PM

Leave a Reply

