Empathy & Enterprise. Video finished.

 

https://vimeo.com/user45796169 – link to video on vimeo account.

As I am nearing the end of my process and finishing off work for my final summative hand in I struggled on editing my video for submission. I had the much appreciated help of my friend who essentially took over the process and edited the video for me as I was still in the process of making mockup websites. i sat close with the process explaining what I wanted and this was done. The video footage was not of great quality as my camera is old and is not a film camera but i did not have the time to re film all of this so I worked with the footage i had. I had several clips that were not of any use due to the camera shaking, me forgetting to curse on command after the object dropped, the object falling out of shot or the background noise interrupting the shoot. I wanted the tagline for the video to appear at the end of the last video footage but through the editing process we came to the conclusion that the title looked better at the beginning of the video as it gave the video context. The type appeared in fast single edits which were quite punchy, linking very well with the manner in which i dropped the objects in the video. I am not a fan really of using video as a piece as i am completely at a loss with what makes a good camera angle and the editing process seems incredibly difficult. However i did think this of digital design work and i have powered through a week of digitally rendering pieces, so perhaps I will venture into video more so in the future, I won’t rule it out as an option. This video is far from perfect but will have to suffice as I have set no more time for processing pieces now as i am now spending the next two days going over sketchbook checking i meet the learning outcomes head on in preparation for the hand in.  Improving this video would include  using a professional video camera or atlas a more sophisticated version of my own, planned camera angles which would be held at the exact position for each clip-a tripod would be effective in achieving this. Essentially i was focused on capturing this footage and creating a quick video, obviously the video is not a focal final piece as the attention to detail would be to abetter level, the digital pieces i have been working on are in fact the central pieces. I however didn’t want to hand in FMP only in flat  formats, this way I have made a compilation of photocopy prints, hand rendered illustrations, digital mockups and a video.

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 6.57.26 PM

Leave a Reply

